How I Keep Depression at Bay

Maggie Bowyer
Sep 22, 2022

--

I write about the darkness to bring it to light.

I write about the depression to push back on its heaviness. Keep it at bay.

I don’t want to sit in the dark by myself. I can’t imagine that anyone wants to deal with the weight of the world on their own. I write so that you can feel less alone in those moments of grief, fear, and agony.

I want to be there with you. I want to hold some of the heaviness. I want you to know I feel it too.

My mind is a very dark place;
I guess that’s why I try to
Rewrite the world
With beautiful words.

Today’s poem is from my upcoming collection UNGODLY. If you enjoy my poetry, please consider shopping any of my poetry collections or other merchandise!

--

--

Maggie Bowyer

Freelance writer. UNGODLY, WHEN I BLEED: POEMS ABOUT ENDOMETRIOSIS and more