Come Find Happiness With Me

A new poetic journey

Maggie Bowyer
2 min readMay 5, 2022
Photo by Alex Alvarez on Unsplash

It took a long time to start writing happy poems, even though I have been in an incredible, happy and healthy for three and a half years now. It took writing all of the bad, pouring into devastating chapters, further surrounded by my mild grief.

I am happy to say I have been writing more and more happy poems. And not just nostalgic and wistful poems like this one. I cannot wait to share the happiness I am finding, so please stick around. I hope that we are on a parallel journey towards happiness; I can’t wait to see what else we discover.

I have finally dug
Beneath all the gore
Of my relationships before.
Underneath a heap of
Memories on their way
To be donated,
Pages already written, was
Something long kept hidden,
My own personal treasury.
How he used to comfort me when
Flashbacks overwhelmed me
In sophomore biology;
How she smiled when I pulled
A new little black dress
And a bottle of ‘blood orange’ liqueur
From my party bag;
How it felt to be held tight
On Halloween night, camped
Out in the trunk of my SUV.
Adolescent pranks
And the most agonizing
Forms of love followed us
All the way here;
It has taken ten years
To sift through all the regret
To find the parts of youth
That are worth holding onto.

--

--

Maggie Bowyer

Freelance writer. UNGODLY, WHEN I BLEED: POEMS ABOUT ENDOMETRIOSIS and more